Posted by: patpane | February 2, 2011

ENROLLING IN PART D (DRUG PLANS)

I realize it is too late for those of you already on Medicare, but for those of you becoming eligible in 2011 this should help you make your decision.  If you have drug coverage thru a retirement plan DO NOT sign up for an individual Part D plan because you will lose your retirement coverage.  If you have questions, please email or call me 800-504-9501.  Here are the questions you should ask in choosing a plan.

1)  Does the plan cover all my medications I am taking?

2)  Can I fill my prescriptions at the pharmacies I use regularly?

3) Does the plan require that I get permission before it will cover the  medication I need ( such as prior authorization or step therapy)?

4) How much will I pay at the pharmacy (copays or coinsurance) for each drug I need?  (Certain drugs may have HIGH coinsurance!!!)


Leave a comment

Categories